For Teen Dating Violence Awareness & Prevention Month (TDVAM) 2021, we are highlighting the work of organizations that center young people and youth-driven initiatives, with a specific focus on the voices and experiences of Black and Trans-identified youth facing homelessness and housing instability.
 

#TDVAM2021



Each year, approximately 1.5 million high school students nationwide experience physical abuse from a dating partner. In addition, a survey of 500 teen and young adults, 57% percent waited six months or more before seeking any help while 40% hadn’t talked to anyone about abusive behavior in their relationship.

This year, NRCDV’s  #1Thing messaging campaign is focused on honoring the wisdom and leadership of youth in promoting community care, healing, and resilience. Additionally, NRCDV is celebrating love is respect’s theme for TDVAM 2021, Know Your Worth, through the PreventIPV project, spotlighting prevention tools and projects that promote healthy relationships with self and others throughout February.

When we work together and each do #1Thing to prevent youth relationship violence and foster healthy relationships and communities, real social change is possible.

#TDVAM2021 graphics can be found as part of the #1Thing campaign page.

 

TDVAM 2021 events and activities:

Full list of NRCDV's TDVAM 2021 activities

 

Webinars

Not Neutral: The Impact of Mandatory Reporting on Domestic Violence Survivors - SOLD OUT
Tuesday, February 9, 2021
3pm Eastern, 2pm Central, 12pm Pacific

**This event has sold out. Recording and support material will be made available after February 12, 2021. Check our YouTube page for this and other webinar recordings.**

 

Meaningful Partnerships to Support Youth at the Intersections of Homelessness and Gender-Based Violence
Tuesday, February 23, 2021
2pm Eastern, 1pm Central, 11am Pacific

 

RHY Toolkit

 

The Runaway & Homeless Youth and Relationship Violence Toolkit

Coming soon, the newly updated and redesigned Runaway & Homeless Youth and Relationship Violence Toolkit from NRCDV states that many runaway and homeless youth have multiple histories of trauma, including neglect and physical and sexual violence.


Blog Posts

Awareness Highlight: Centering Youth at the Intersections of Homelessness and Gender-Based Violence for Teen DV Month 2021 (February 2021)

VAWnet TA Question of the Month: What are effective, trauma-informed strategies for serving runaway and homeless youth and young adults? (February 2021)

 

Additional Resource

loveisrespect guides: Know Your Worth TDVAM 2021 Action Guide, 2021 Respect Week Guide, and 2021 social media guide.

Prevent Connect podcasts:
Embracing Change, Creativity, and Connection: Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month 2021 - part 1
Hope, Prevention, and the Power of Young People: Teen Dating Violence Awareness Month 2021- part 2

NRCDV Special Collection: Preventing and Responding to Teen Dating Violence (Updated January 2019)

PreventIPV: Engaging Youth in IPV Prevention: Lessons Learned from DELTA FOCUS (February 2020)

NRCDV TAQ: How can we create meaningful connections with youth leaders seeking opportunities to become vocal advocates for themselves and their communities? (February 2019)

NRCDV TAQ: How can we harness the power of our own trauma histories to build truly intersectional and intergenerational approaches to this work? (February 2018) 

NRCDV webinar recording: Our Gender Revolution: Social Change to End Gender Violence (February 2017)